Daily Prompt: In good faith, or my one moment of spirituality. Ever.

PD_0132

Describe a memory or encounter in which you considered your faith, religion, spirituality — or lack of — for the first time.

“One more push” said the doctor; “Hang on, you’re almost there.”

A few seconds later, I saw my daughter for the first time.  Her eyes were open, looking at me.  I could feel the pulse of blood that still moved through the umbilical cord to her body, and then back to me.  We were one; joined through the cord and placenta; we were separate people.

I’ve never forgotten that moment.  It’s the closest I’ve ever come to a spiritual epiphany.  I’m not religious or spiritual; I don’t believe in god, life after death or reincarnation.  I don’t think there are guardian angels, or woodland spirits.  While there are many, many good people in this world who use religion as a way to funnel their essential good to help others, I also believe that overall religion has done more harm than good.

But that moment – that one moment – I felt and experienced the greatest connection that can exist between two human beings.  The epiphany I had was that we are all connected, that we need to take care of each other, that the actions each of us take are not isolated, but affect everyone.

Happy birthday to my daughter, who started teaching me that very first moment back in 1982.

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: In good faith, or my one moment of spirituality. Ever.

  1. Love it. Haven’t had children, but I can imagine that moment. I hope one day I can experience it. I’m almost 43 so not sure it will happen. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

