People who need People

I need people; not generic run of the mill humans, but “People”; with a capital P.  Captain Jean-Luc Picard had People: all he had to do was utter “Make it so” in that sonorous voice and it would happen.  

If Jean-Luc decided that he wanted to have his stairs upgraded from carpeting to wood, he’d turn to First Officer  Riker and say “Make it so”, and then he could wander off with a cup of tea, Earl Grey, hot.  It was up to Number One to figure out if those pre-made stairs were a better idea than having someone come in and do it from scratch, and whether he should call that guy who advertises in the neighborhood newsletter, how to figure out a way to get it done that wouldn’t require taking a week’s vacation, or maybe that a really good carpet shampooing was all that was needed.

I don’t have People, nor do I drink Earl Grey tea.  I’m still trying to figure out why Picard had a British accent.  I mean, his brother had a French accent.  Was he sent off to an English boarding school at an early age?  Was he a foreign exchange student who never left?  On the bright side, at least Gene Roddenberry didn’t hire Gérard Depardieu.

Anyway, back to the carpet, I still don’t have a clue where to start and what to do, and now I’m wasting time wondering why the role of Captain Picard couldn’t have just been rewritten as a Brit when Patrick Stewart was signed on to play the character.

And that, in a nutshell, is why I need People.

2 thoughts on “People who need People

  1. I’m sorry for chuckling when you are having trouble figuring out what to do … it’s your fault though; you write so well! I wish I could “make it so” and People would appear at your door. Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

